Context: Conrad Shawcross

 

Conrad Shawcross is a Contemporary artist based in the uk. Im interested in his light work and drawing machines, and his ‘Anorac enthusiasm for science.’
I too have an interest in science, placing it alongside religion, and further more spirituality and more primitive arts and the origins of drawing and painting.

I find scientific rationality to be interesting, especially when looking at art. His movement is expressive, and geometric – how much expression is in science? Looking in another direction, at Taoism, are there alternatives to rationality? Intuition is surely an easier word to apply? Science still celebrates explained reality.

Shawcross says he was attracted to Science by ‘failed quests for knowledge in the past.’ This something im curious about, its a familiar scenario. My work has elements in it that started to appear when maths and science dissapeared from my agenda. The same maths and science, the same routine, and all the visual elements taught to me curiously became mysteriously part of my early diagramatic art works. Spacial aspects seem to be mapped out, symbols and numerics appeared, and i tried to apply visual theory. Recently some twenty years later im thinking about calling my degree show piece, ‘Diagram verses Drawing’ – a historic piece, with visual links through to my early art.

key moments. Identifying with other artists and putting context in place has been difficult so far. Im not saying impossible, its just that slowly improving written technique, and research methods has taken time. What a great thing it is to see new art and be so influenced. My timeline over the three years of the course has developed at a similar rate as my studio work. I started with imagery of my own work and bullet points. It moved onto poeticism and finally prose. I think that reflects on my thinking and my creativity being focused in my work. As i move into the finishing stages of the degree i feel that i can now use written language appropriately yet still use less formal words in paintings and poems.

Leave a Reply

