Context: Mondrian ‘Broadway Boogie Woogie’

Mondrian made a massive impression on Eve Polgar and Sandor Valy who made the 1943 piece ‘Broadway Boogiewoogie.’ They share his vision of 1940s New York with his translation to paintings, my inspiration being their film and audio.  Further more they bring elements of film and music together in the piece which for me is a perfect realisation of music and art together.  In my piece i intend to use the same format, Broadway Boogiewoogie reminds me of my time spent in New york. Memories put me in mind of some of my first recordings onto high definition tape and life sixteen years ago. This single HDV tape being the first element of my piece.

Choosing abstraction alongside autobiography from my footage, i look for conditions that sum up and relate to the intentions of the work. For example the  relationship between the two pieces is dictated by the flow of the footage, significant moments in story and within that story gestures. Ive edited the film to make it sequential. ive focused on creating a tangible reality of two films existing in the same time and space, though they have obvious differences, both pertain to states of mind and communications, silence and using the voice.

The Non Objective abstract is potentially the final movement of drawing and painting in my work. The Autobiography locates my physical presence in the piece, and to the viewer a glimpse into my existence and recorded past time. The piece Broadway Boogie Woogie is about vision, with regards to location and presence, happenings and translation into painting and moving image.

The truly modern artist is aware of abstraction in an emotion of beauty. (Piet Mondrian)

Key Moments: descovering a piece like this brought about a further commitment to choosing one format for my own studio work. Ive been aware of Mondrian since i was a youth. To me his work speaks of clarity and seems to translate or abstract reality of living in New York in a statement similar to that of a set of way of life paintings.

Leave a Reply

