Context: W. Kandinsky

Mm

 

‘The more abstract is form, the more clear and direct its appeal.’ W. Kandinsky

Kandinskys’ painting was one of the first abstract works that id ever seen. Appropriately Kandinsky is reputedly the first artist to experiment with abstract paintings, which were a response to an unusual Sensorial ability and appreciation of music.

When i realised Kandinsky was creating whole pieces of music based work, i tried to do so myself. I looked at the numeric structure of music, time signatures and rythmic notation. This was twenty one years ago, roughly half of my life. Again i picked up representation of music in my art some five years later. I moved from listening to music in cars to Djing and buying music on vinyl. I bought a drum machine, upgraded my turntables and studied music and art.

This period of time on fine art at Csad ive taken every opertunity to follow up on music and art. Like Kandinsky an appreciation caused me to interchange elements of audio and visual stimulation. My final piece includes a sample of a Proust poem spoken by myself, which ive consciously changed to sound alien or foreign. This piece which contains my own music is set to run at the same time as my film, as a reflection on audio reality. The message is that you dont have understand something for it to be beautiful.

Key Moments: Kandinskys representation of music in his painting helped me understand the different ways perception forms the beginning of an artists process. It stays a part of the consciousness of the artist while they explore and develope, individualy or as part of a movement with shared ideas. To take into consideration the appropriate connection an artist has with forms of notation, abstract and in my case a central part in film, is central to understanding my work.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

